Back Back to Knowledge Hub

Registration now open: Facilitated E-Learning Course on Climate Transparency and the Enhanced Transparency Framework

4 March 2024

In collaboration with the secretariat of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), the CBIT-Global Support Programme (CBIT-GSP), the UNEP Copenhagen Climate Centre (UNEP-CCC) and the United Nations System Staff College (UNSSC), the Initiative for Climate Action Transparency Initiative (ICAT) is pleased to announce that registration for the facilitated e-learning course on climate transparency and the enhanced transparency framework is now open.

Scheduled to start in April 2024, the course aims to provide support to developing countries to build national capacity to implement the ETF under the Paris Agreement. In particular, the course will help countries to assess and develop mitigation policies, so as to advance national and international climate objectives and enable the achievement of national priorities and sustainable development goals.

Participants completing this course will obtain:

  • an overview of the context of the role of ministries and governments in relation to the objectives and requirements of the Paris Agreement and its ETF, and how to implement the ETF in a way that advances national and international goals;
  • an improved perspective on data needs and methods for assessing and reporting on mitigation actions, to enable effective climate policymaking and NDC monitoring; 
  • an overview of where to access best practice advice, knowledge resources, methodologies, guidelines and tools related to climate transparency;
  • the context to facilitate the preparation of national institutional arrangements and resource mobilization, as well as support for ETF implementation.

Following the success of the first three training rounds, targeting Anglophone Africa in 2021, Asia-Pacific in 2022, Francophone Africa in 2023, and Spanish-speaking countries in Latin America and the Caribbean in 2024, we are now pleased to offer another round of this training in English. It will be offered to dividuals from the regions of the Balkans, Caucasus, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East. 

Participants must fit either of the following profiles:

  1. Senior government officials working in national ministries/organizations concerned with national action on climate change, with some responsibility for supporting national policy development, climate reporting and/or the implementation of transparency agreements.
  2. Technical practitioners working in the field of climate action reporting, data collection and transparency in core and auxiliary ministries. This may also include non-public sector practitioners supporting data collection processes at national and sub-national levels.

This course will follow a blended learning approach, with e-learning modules, exercises and weekly virtual interactive sessions with subject matter experts and peers, followed by an in-person workshop for participants selected according to the criteria below. A facilitator will guide and assist participants throughout the course, providing real-time feedback on activities and exercises. The user-friendly online social learning platform will also offer participants the opportunity to connect with peers from diverse backgrounds, promoting peer-to-peer learning.

Further information

Please consult the full text of the call for enrolment for further information on the course, including content, dates and enrolment details.

Registration now open: Facilitated E-Learning Course on Climate Transparency and the Enhanced Transparency Framework

Participants from the following countries are eligible to apply: Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Dominica, Georgia, Grenada, Guyana, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Oman, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, State of Palestine, Serbia, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

Apply by 29 March 2024